Board Members

Established by government in 2004, the role of the New Brunswick Insurance Board (NBIB) is to regulate auto insurance rates for all companies doing business in NB.

Although the Board was created by government, it was established to be an independent body, operating as an administrative tribunal, separate from government. The Board’s activities are reported through a separately published annual report and the Board appears before the Legislature’s Standing Committee on Crown Corporations to answer any questions that MLAs may have.

The Board consists of a Chair, Vice-Chair and 8-10 members. The membership of the Board consists of a cross-section of New Brunswick citizens from all regions of the province and with a wide ranging variety of backgrounds. Board members, including the Vice-Chair are appointed for three-year terms and can be reappointed. The Chair is appointed to a non-renewable ten-year term.

Marie-Claude Doucet, Chair, Moncton

Marie-Claude Doucet was appointed as Chair of the New Brunswick Insurance Board in October 2016. She received a Bachelor of Psychology degree in 2002 from the Université de Moncton followed by her law degree from the same university in 2005. She subsequently earned a Master of Business Administration degree from Saint Mary’s University in 2007 and was admitted to the New Brunswick Bar in 2008.

Prior to her appointment to the Board, Ms Doucet practiced law with Bossé Viola LeBlanc, where she focused her practice in civil litigation, specifically in the areas of personal injury and insurance law.

Ms Doucet is a member of the New Brunswick Law Society, the Canadian Bar Association, the Moncton Area Lawyers Association, and the Association des juristes d’expression française du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Brad Woodside, Vice-Chair, Fredericton

Brad Woodside was appointed as Vice-Chairperson of the New Brunswick Insurance Board in October 2016. Mr. Woodside has had a 30 year career in municipal politics. He holds the distinction of being Fredericton’s longest serving mayor, having been elected for a record eight terms. He has dedicated his life to exemplary leadership and continually serving others through both public and community service.

Mr. Woodside is an experienced and engaging public speaker. He is also a former President of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities where he represented communities across Canada on the national and international stage.

Mr. Woodside has been distinguished with many honours and awards for his leadership and service to his community. He received an Honorary Doctor of Laws from St. Thomas University for being an exceptional public and community leader.


Bernard Gautreau
Jim Jessop
Francine Kanhai
Saint André
Al Kavanaugh
Robert McSorley
Katherine Munro
Saint John
Heather Stephen
Saint John
Elizabeth Turgeon